Welcome to the Help Center 👋

Who can see what?

An overview of who can see what in a conversation and project on Rivet.
KM
Written by Kelly Mackey
Updated 1 year ago

On Rivet, anyone you've invited to a conversation that is also a Rivet app user will be able to see and participate in that conversation (similar to text message).

On each conversation, you can set admins. The creator of the conversation is automatically set as the admin. They can then make others admins as well. Only admins will be able to add members and change chat setting like the chat name or the project it's associated with.

If you've created a conversation where some members are not Rivet app users, then those users will only see the messages you send from within that chat via the 'Send text' feature, they will not see anything else in that chat. You will know that is the case by the red banner at the top of the chat (seen below).

If that non-Rivet app user joins at a later date, they will be able to see the content in that chat.

Below are two pictures. The one on the left belongs to a super that is part of the GC's team working on the Alcatraz project. The one on the left belongs to the Drywall sub working on the Alcatraz project with the GC org. As you can see, the Drywall company only sees the content in the chat they are part of.

Chats that are associated with a project will automatically roll up each respective chat's photos, tasks, and files to the project level. People in those chats will only see the content shared in their chat, not all the photos, tasks, and files in any of the other chats.

Everyone that is part of a chat associated with a project will have access to the project's info screen. This can be found in the project by scrolling horizontally to the 'Info' tab in the menu directly under the project name, or in any chat by tapping the 'i' icon in the top right hand corner.

If you have any other questions, or would like to set up a demo, you can reach out at help@joinrivet.com.

Did this answer your question?